State Information

Rhode Island Tax Liens

Rhode Island Tax Liens

Rhode Island Tax Liens

 Sale Type:  Tax Lien Certificates/Tax Deeds
Interest Rate:  10%+1%
Bid Method:  Highest Bidder
 Redemption Period:  1 Year
Sale Date(s):  Year Round
 State Statute(s): Title 44, CH 9
Over-the-Counter:  No
 State Website:

Rhode Island State Overview

In Rhode Island, tax collector’s sell tax deeds (hybrid tax deed) with a 1 year right of redemption. The original owner may redeem by paying the purchase price plus a 10% penalty plus 1% per month after 6 months.

  • Tax Sale Type: Hybrid Tax Deed. (Sec. 44-9-12).
  • Contact: Tax Collector. (Sec. 44-9-7).
  • Interest Rate and/or Penalty Rate: Ten (10%) penalty if redeemed within six (6) months of the date of sale, and an additional one (1%) percent penalty for each succeeding month. (Sec. 44-9-19) and (Sec. 44-9-21).
  • Bid Procedure: Premium bid / highest bid. (Sec. 44-9-8).
  • Redemption Period: One (1) year. (Sec. 44-9-25).
  • Law: General Laws of Rhode Island, Title 44, Chapter 9 – “Tax Sales”.

About The Author


Tax Lien Wealth Builders is a group of experienced, active investors providing everyday people with access to one of the best Real Estate Investment vehicles available today.